What the state charges to change your registered agent: Delaware, Wyoming, Nevada, Texas
The SOS fee to change the agent of record is $50 in Delaware, $5 in Wyoming, $60 in Nevada, and $15 in Texas. Those are state filings, not a commercial subscription. A Delaware LLC pays $50 only if captioned agent-only; a generic amendment is $200 by statute and $220 on the Division schedule. Nevada’s schedule is still Effective 7-1-08.
The SOS fee to change the agent of record is $50 in Delaware, $5 in Wyoming, $60 in Nevada, and $15 in Texas. Those figures are state filing fees. They are not a commercial registered-agent subscription. Delaware’s $50 LLC path exists only if the amendment is captioned as a change of registered office or registered agent only. A generic amendment is $200 by statute and $220 on the Division schedule. Cherry tracks the state-of-record agent and the state instrument. It does not replace the SOS fee schedule.
Four official change-of-agent filing fees
| State | Instrument | Official fee | Source | If you do not file |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delaware (LLC) | Certificate of amendment changing only the registered office or registered agent (must be so captioned) | $50 | 6 Del. C. §18-1105(a)(11); AugustFee2026.pdf “Change of Agent Only Amendment” | Not stated on the fee pages fetched for this post |
| Delaware (LLC, generic) | Amendment – domestic (not the agent-only caption) | $200 statute / $220 Division schedule | Same statute (default paper fee); same PDF “Amendment – domestic” | Not stated on those pages |
| Wyoming | Appointment of New Registered Agent and Office | $5 | BusinessFees.pdf (Revised June 2026 / Effective July 1st, 2026); RA FAQ | SOS FAQ (CRA drop, not a missed $5 appointment): if a CRA is removed on 1 January, “those entities will be without a registered agent.” Separate bill: LLC reinstatement for no RA $350; profit-corp $250. |
| Nevada | Change of Registered Agent by Represented Entity (also: Change of Noncommercial Registered Agent) | $60 | LLC fee schedule (Effective 7-1-08, pursuant to NRS 86) | Not stated on that schedule |
| Texas | Form 401, change of registered agent and/or registered office by the entity | $15 (nonprofit / cooperative: $5) | Form 806 fee schedule (Revised 10/25); RA FAQ | “Involuntary termination of a domestic filing entity or … revocation of a foreign filing entity’s registration” |
The statutory function of an agent is a different post: Delaware registered agent explained. This one is the state fee.
Delaware’s $50 LLC path exists only with the agent-only caption
Corporations pay $50 under §145(12)
A Delaware corporation must have a registered agent under 8 Del. C. §132(a). A corporation may be its own agent under §132(a)(1). The board changes office or agent under §133 by filing a certificate. 8 Del. C. §145(12) charges $50 “for filing … any certificate of change of location or change of registered agent, as provided in § 133.” Exempt corporations: $5.00. The August 2026 Division schedule matches: domestic “Change of Agent/Office” $50.00; foreign “Change of Business Purpose/Change of Agent” $50.00. Column one is a 1-page document; add $9 per extra page for county recording.
An LLC pays $50 only with the agent-only caption
The ICP default in this post is the LLC, not a corporation. 6 Del. C. §18-1105(a)(11) sets a default paper fee of $200, then an exception: “For filing any instrument submitted by a limited liability company or foreign limited liability company that only changes the registered office or registered agent and is specifically captioned as a certificate of amendment changing only the registered office or registered agent, a fee in the amount of $50 provided that no fee shall be charged pursuant to § 18-206(e).” The Division schedule labels that row “Change of Agent Only Amendment – domestic/foreign” $50.00. The next row is “Amendment – domestic” $220.00. Do not collapse $50, $200, and $220.
Resignation of agent without a successor under §18-104(d) is $2.00 per LLC. That is not the change-of-agent filing. Franchise tax is a different bill; the math stays on Delaware franchise tax math. Checking a federal box does not rewrite the agent: Form 8832 line 6a.
Wyoming’s $5 is the appointment filing, not the agent
The Wyoming fee schedule is headed “Revised: June 2026” / “Effective July 1st, 2026.” Under “Registered Agents and Commercial Registered Agents”: Appointment of New Registered Agent and Office $5.00; Registered Agent Information Update $5.00 per entity affected; Resignation of Registered Agent $5.00 per entity affected; Annual Registration of Commercial Registered Agent $50.00. The $5 line is the appointment or change filing. It is not “the cost of a registered agent.” The $50 line is the CRA’s annual SOS registration, not your commercial subscription.
The RA FAQ answers the fan-out in one sentence: “How do I change the registered agent for my business and what is the fee? File an Appointment of New Registered Agent and Office form along with the filing fee of $5.00.” You can be your own agent if you are 18+, reside in Wyoming, and have a physical Wyoming address and a valid email. The registered office cannot be a P.O. Box, drop box, virtual address, mail-forwarding location, or a UPS or FedEx store.
A commercial registered agent represents more than ten businesses or another CRA. Registration is valid until 12/31 each year. If a CRA fails to renew or cancel by 12/31: late fee $500 plus administrative fees for each entity they represent; on 1/1 they are removed as agent “and those entities will be without a registered agent.” LLC “Reinstatement for No Registered Agent” is $350.00. Profit-corporation reinstatement for no RA is $250.00.
Nevada still publishes the 7-1-08 LLC fee schedule
The file the Nevada SOS still serves is Limited-Liability Company Fee Schedule / Effective 7-1-08 / Pursuant to NRS 86. That effective date is still on the file. The SOS has not labeled those dollar amounts as a 2026 reprint.
On that schedule: “Change of Noncommercial Registered Agent $60.00”; “Change of Registered Agent by Represented Entity $60.00”; “Resignation of Registered Agent (plus $1.00 for each additional entity listed) $100.00.” Twenty-four-hour expedite on those RA-line filings: $25.00. Two-hour expedite: $500.00 per item. The forms index names the instrument “Registered Agent Acceptance/Statement of Change (NRS CHAPTERS 77.310, 77.340, 77.350, 77.380)” and adds no new dollar amounts.
The pages fetched for this post do not say whether a Nevada entity may be its own agent. Foreign qualification in Nevada is a nexus question, not an RA-fee question: multi-state nexus, four signals.
Texas Form 401 is $15. The entity cannot be its own agent.
Form 806 (Revised 10/25) lists “Change of registered agent and/or registered office by entity (except nonprofit corporation or cooperative association) (Form 401) $15.” The same change by a nonprofit or cooperative: $5. Consent of registered agent (Form 401-A): $15 (nonprofit $5). Rejection of appointment (Form 428): $0. Resignation of registered agent (Form 402): $0. Change of registered office by the agent (Form 408): $15 per entity, LLC cap $750.
The Texas SOS RA FAQ is blunt. “A domestic or foreign filing entity is required to continuously maintain a registered agent and registered office in Texas. Failure to do so may result in the involuntary termination of a domestic filing entity or in the revocation of a foreign filing entity’s registration.” “Therefore, it is important that an entity file a statement of change of registered agent and/or registered office with the secretary of state… See Form 401.” “An entity may not serve as its own registered agent.” “The secretary of state … cannot serve as an entity’s registered agent.” The SOS “does not maintain a list of companies or persons who provide this service.” Consent of the agent is generally not required to be filed; if you do file it, the fee is $15 / $5 as above.
What we are not comparing
This post does not price commercial registered-agent subscriptions. Those invoices are not statutory. It does not cover the other 46 states; official fee instruments for those SOS offices are not cited here. It does not recast franchise tax. Product scope — what Cherry files and what it does not — is in trycherry.ai/llms-full.txt. An EIN is Form SS-4. Related-party federal reporting stays on Form 5472.
Information Gain (11 September 2026)
Opinion (not a Cherry statistic). The number founders Google (“registered agent cost”) is almost never the number that changes the public record. The SOS fee to change the agent of record in the four states we can source today is $50 (Delaware change-of-agent-only) / $5 (Wyoming appointment) / $60 (Nevada represented-entity change) / $15 (Texas Form 401). A vendor dashboard that says “you’ve switched” without that instrument leaves the old agent on the SOS file. That is a different product from the annual commercial subscription, and it is the only comparison this post can honestly make without inventing vendor price lists.
Opinion (still not a statistic). Wyoming’s published CRA failure mode — removed as agent on 1 January; entities left with no agent — is a state-side concentration risk that a $5 change filing is designed to fix.
The four-step playbook
- Read the SOS record. Confirm the agent of record and the entity type (Delaware LLC vs corporation changes the caption and the fee).
- File the state instrument for your state: Delaware agent-only caption ($50) or generic amendment ($200 / $220); Wyoming Appointment of New Registered Agent and Office ($5); Nevada represented-entity or noncommercial change ($60); Texas Form 401 ($15).
- Wait until the SOS file shows the new agent.
- Then cancel the old commercial service. Texas requires a domestic or foreign filing entity to continuously maintain a registered agent. Wyoming’s FAQ says entities can be left without an agent when a CRA is removed. Cherry tracks the state-of-record agent and that instrument. It does not replace reading the schedule.
FAQ
How much does it cost to change a registered agent in Delaware?
A corporation’s certificate of change under §133 is $50 (8 Del. C. §145(12); August 2026 schedule). An LLC pays $50 only if the amendment is specifically captioned as changing only the registered office or registered agent. A generic domestic amendment is $200 by statute and $220 on the Division schedule.
What is the Wyoming appointment-of-new-registered-agent fee?
$5.00, per the SOS fee schedule (effective July 1st, 2026) and the RA FAQ. That $5 is the filing. The CRA’s annual SOS registration is $50. Neither figure is a commercial subscription price.
What does Nevada charge to change a registered agent?
$60.00 for “Change of Registered Agent by Represented Entity” and for “Change of Noncommercial Registered Agent,” on the LLC fee schedule the SOS still serves as Effective 7-1-08.
What is the Texas Form 401 registered-agent change fee?
$15 for a change of registered agent and/or registered office by the entity (Form 806, Revised 10/25). Nonprofit or cooperative: $5. The entity cannot be its own registered agent.
What is the difference between a registered-agent service fee and the state filing fee?
The service fee is a private invoice. The state filing fee is what the SOS charges to change the agent of record: $50 / $5 / $60 / $15 in Delaware (agent-only), Wyoming, Nevada, and Texas. A dashboard switch without that instrument leaves the old agent on file.
Stop reading. Start delegating.
Cherry runs Form 5472, Delaware franchise tax, multi-state nexus, and books for your Delaware LLC or C-Corp. Compliant by default. Filed on time. Penalties avoided.
Join the waitlist